Rocket Fuel


Print    Email
Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+)

The Legacy Society

In 2003, Holy Cross Hospital inaugurated The Legacy Society to celebrate our 40th anniversary and to honor individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to the hospital and its ability to provide exceptional health care in a compassionate manner. Honorees, donors and their guests are invited to attend an annual induction ceremony and dinner.

Each year we invite nominations from board members, staff, physicians, Auxilians and volunteers for individuals who should be recognized for exemplary support that has enabled Holy Cross Hospital to become the second largest community hospital in Maryland and the most trusted provider of health care in our community.

2013 Legacy Society Honorees
The Holy Cross Health Foundation is proud to announce the induction of five new members into the Legacy Society. 

The induction will take place at the Donor Appreciation & Legacy Society Dinner on Wednesday, June 26, 2013 at 6:30 p.m. at Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center. 

The new members are:

  • Jane Chase, RN, BSN, CPN
  • Rosalie Collins, RN
  • Lee Edsel
  • Nancy Nagel, RN
  • Carolyn Williams

Congratulations to our most recent Legacy Society honorees!

Previous Legacy Society Honorees

Richard Levin, MD
Ruth Manchester, RN
Elissa Mulligan, RN
Martha Squitero
Sandra Wolk

Ira Brecher, MD
Eileen Cahill
Sister Rachel Callahan, CSC
Giulio I. Scarzella, MD
Norma J. Wright, R.T. (R)(M)

Janet Kelly
Sister Barbara Marie Kleck, CSC
Kathleen Mewhiney
Jeanne Nist, RN, FCN
Barry Rosenbaum, MD
Jerri Scarzella, RN

JoAnne Bayles
Donna Dolan
Joel Palmer, MD
Sister Kathleen Weber, CSC
Robert Zimmermann, MD

Frances Barkley
Theresa Emmell, RN
Carla Halik, RN
Sr. Clarence Marie Larson, CSC
James S. Stanton, MD
Dennis Wright

Thecla Brathwaite
Jules Cahan, MD
Cristine Carr, MD
C. James Duke, MD
Alida McDonald, RN
Seamus P. Nunan, MD

Louis Galdieri, MD
Samuel Itscoitz, MD
Ellis Klioze
Lisa Tenney, RN


Sister Helen Marie Auth, CSC
Freddie Brown
Sister Dorothy Anne Cahill, CSC
Robert J. Grossman
Ted Hannah
Neal McKelvey
Lawrence Oufiero, MD
Linda P. Rough
Murray "Mike" Walker

Charles R. (Rick) Bailey, Jr.
Peg O. McCuistion, LFACHE
Marianne (Mimi) Rigney, RN
Marvin Schneider, MD
Beatrice Hempfling
Elizabeth O'Connor, RN
Sister Jane Ann Rochford, CSC
Clyde (Rocky) Sorrell, Esq.
Albert M. Zelna, MD

Roger C. Allen
Bernard Band, MD
Ann Banville
Joseph P. Blocher
Mary F. Boone
John Brady, MD
Thomas J. Burke
Mother M. Constantine, CSC
Merrill Cross, MD
A.S. Migs Damiani
Leonard Dietz, MD
Mary Robin Diven
Blaine H. Eig, MD
Sam Eig
Barton J. Gershen, MD
Marylou Grimes

2003, Cont'd
Bertha Gudelsky
John Haberlin, MD
Archbishop Philip M. Hannan
Pauline Heil
John P. (Jack) Hewitt
Andrew J. Kessinger
Martin J. Kmetz
Leo Koeplfe
Honorable Sidney Kramer
Sister M. Laurencita, CSC
R. Robert Linowes
Peter N. Lombard, MD
Raymond E. Mahaffey
Helen Messer
Marvin Mones, MD
Judge John P. Moore
Irene C. Morelli, RN, MSN
Cardinal Patrick O'Boyle
Steven Oristian, MD
Albra Reising
Lewis T. Roberts
Mary T. Robins
Irwin W. Rovner, MD
Everett Schrider
Thelma V. Simkins
Dwight R. Smith, MD
Robert T. Snure
Edward D. Soma, MD
Edward P. Van Hise, Jr. 
Irene K. Widmayer
Margaret Evans Zahn

If you have questions, please contact Holy Cross Hospital Foundation at 301-754-7130 or




©  2014 

Holy Cross Hospital | 1500 Forest Glen Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 | 301-754-7000