Rocket Fuel


Print    Email
Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+)

For Experienced Nurses

Holy Cross Hospital offers experienced nurses an unusually broad range of career choices as well as career growth and professional development opportunities.

Educational Programs

  • Critical Care Nursing Course (including Emergency Center)
  • Maternity Child Health Nursing Course

Clinical Ladder
Holy Cross Hospital offers a clinical ladder program for nurses designed to reward and recognize excellence in clinical practice.  The program recognizes and provides opportunities for professional growth, emphasizes teamwork, supports the utilization of evidence-based practice and enhances patient care.

All nurses are eligible for advancement if they work a minimum of 1040 hours annually, have satisfactory completed a probationary period, receive a satisfactory rating on the last performance evaluation and receive manager endorsement. The non-sequential clinical ladder levels are:

  • Registered Nurse II: 30 professional development hours with a maximum of six continuing education hours
  • Registered Nurse III: 50 professional development hours with a maximum of twelve continuing education hours
  • Registered Nurse IV: 70 professional development hours with a maximum of eighteen continuing education hours

All levels require an application process.  Professional self-development hours can be achieved through various activities.  The applicant must reflect the principles of the Quality-Caring Model in his or her professional portfolio. A few examples of accepted professional activities include hospital committee participation, quality improvement initiatives, patient/family education development, clinical research or professional membership.

©  2014 

Holy Cross Hospital | 1500 Forest Glen Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 | 301-754-7000